New member Intro

I’ve been chasing POTA for some time now and decided it was time to add SOTA to my repertoire.
I was originally licensed around 1973 as WN4VOO. Until early 2019 I had been away from the hobby since the 90’s.
I’m looking forward to being an active participant in the SOTA program. In fact I’m shopping for a QRP CW transceiver so I can do a few activation’s myself.

17 Likes

Excellent, welcome Jay. You’ve joined at a good time with the S2S event tomorrow. Good luck

1 Like

Welcome! WARNING It’s addictive.

73, Fraser

6 Likes

Welcome, I’m new to ham radio let alone SOTA. As you will have found there is a wide choice of CW outfits. At one end of the scale the QCX Mini is brilliant although only single band but at the price, even if bought fully built it takes some beating. At the other end of the scale KX2/3 have a lot of users as there are for my IC-705. The KX2 or KX3 can have an ATU built in which the IC-705 doesnt.

2 Likes

I think my perfect SOTA rig would be a very simple 40m, 30m, 20m CW only 5w out put rig for under $175 US. To my knowledge it doesn’t exist.

2 Likes

Welcome Jay!
No doubt you’ll love it; like working DX, and YOU’RE the DX!

Listening for you on the bands…

Ken, K6HPX

3 Likes

Welcome to The Sota community! It’s very addictive and full of the greatest guys and girls our hobby can offer.

I will be watching for your spots and maybe we can get a S2S.

73 De VE6JTW, Jesse

2 Likes

There are others.

David

3 Likes

It misses the price point some and lacks 30m (just 40m and 20m) but I love my TR-25. It was fun and easy to build though you can get it factory built if you prefer.

http://www.wa3rnc.com/store/tr-25-cw-transceiver-kit.html

1 Like

Thanks I just happened to stumble across this model since my last post.

I’d love to hear feedback from anyone who has operated one or the Pacific Antenna equivalents, for comparison.

I made my first SOTA contact today, WC0Y - W5A/PT-004.

7 Likes