HgOTA & HbOTA

Hi all :wink:
Following this thread BYOTA in ZL by ZL3AB & ZL2AJ I’m thinking of another possible activities in the lockdown !

Home garden OTA and Home balcony OTA

What is it about ?
Activate from your garden or your balcony with a TRX QRP (5 watts max) powered by batteries using if possible an antenna other than that of your usual station, that’s the first idea !
I am a CW operator but we can imagine using all the available modes as long as it remains portable (no mains power).But you can have a beer from your fridge :yum:

Using Peanut for schedule, but the problem is how can I spot my activity ?

I’ll write a bit more later, with frequencies and some other thing that will make it possible.

Your opinions interest me and are welcome :+1:

73 Éric

3 Likes

Nice idea Eric. Its nice weather at the moment here on the NE coast.

But QRL today and tomorrow with The Webmaster Page – Radio Officers :slight_smile: However I think they’ll be plenty of time for HbOTA and/or HgOTA later on.

1 Like

Hi Eric,
Nice idea.
I can introduce also one more: SHOTA - Stay Home OTA

73, Jarek

4 Likes

I put up a 20m dipole in my small garden a few weeks ago specifically for this kind of activity. I have a variety of QRP transmitters and transceivers, I put out CQs every day apart from Wednesdays when I’m out all day delivering food boxes for the local organic farm shop.

I had quite a bit of success at first, managing at least one QSO a day, but in recent days I’ve really struggled. Some sun spots would be lovely :slight_smile:

I don’t quite meet SOTA rules as I’m working from my shed. My shed is solar powered and I also charge my SLABs from a dedicated 10w solar panel.

The skip on 20m has been long, I seem to hit Hungary and Eastern US / Canada on the RBN and not much else. The trouble is that my signal is very weak when it gets there! (A friend suggested that QRQ would score more RBN hits but I’m not convinced)

73, Colin

2 Likes

Hi all