First Activation...and so it begins

Hello SOTA folks. I wanted to reach out and see if any of you could give a new comer to SOTA some practical advice about building out a SOTA rig. So I’ve been a HAM since 2018 and I’ve been largely listening to repeaters and occasionally joining nets. When climbing peaks, sometimes I take my radio and link into a repeater systems to communicate with folks on the front range since cell service can be spotty. However, I recently found out about SOTA. I looked up a local peak that had proximity to the city and a fair amount of 2 meter activity. I hiked the peak, keyed up in simplex and was surprised to get a couple of QSO’s. I also heard other SOTA stations and chasers and realized there was way more happening on simplex than I had realized. Now, I’m hooked and already have a list of peaks lined up for this winter, and some ambitious plans for next summer. While I’m fairly new to HAM, I live in a mountainous region and have nearly 70 ascents over 13,850 ft (4221.480 m). I only say that to make the point that I’m familiar with the ascent aspect of SOTA far more than the QSO part.

So, now that I’ve laid out the history, here’s where I could use some advice. Hopefully the conversation may help other new comers as well…

Right now I have a Yaesu FT-60 HT which has a max of 5w. At home I have an attic mount j-pole that I hook to but out in the field I use a Diamond SRH77CA. As I’ve been looking at the SOTAWatch3 log of activity, I noticed that there’s a lot of 20m and 40m activations. Since I know that a lot of the places that I hope to go are pretty remote, I started looking at some of the HF mobile/portables and started planning my build. However, at the same time, I realize there’s a lot that I don’t know. Not just about the SOTA in general, but about simplex as a whole. This is where I’m in a quandary.

From my perspective, I can see the following few options.