2m SSB S2S DX Party - Sunday 29th December 2019

Several SOTA activations are alerted for 2m SSB at 1400-1600z Sunday afternoon. This includes stations in DL, G and ON, and the conditions look potentially favourable for DX.

The event in progress will be the 3rd session of the RSGB Christmas Cumulatives, albeit only the first (and probably only) session of participation for myself - and possibly others.

Join in if you can - either as a chaser - or even better as an activator - for this rare feast of 2m SSB SOTA DX!

1 Like

I will hopefully be qrv from 1330z in order to make some contacts before the band gets crowded in the uk. Usually I qsy 10-20 down from 144.300. Will spot but not sure if I can access sotawatch on the summit.
80 w @ 11,5 dBd

Ahoi
Pom

1 Like

Will you be on KST Pom?

I don’t know if there’s internet coverage on NS-127 and I’ve never tried KST on my mobile before. So the answer is maybe.

The 70cm world record was broken yesterday (D41 => GM) so if conditions persist you might all work some good DX!

1 Like

FT8… doesn’t count :slight_smile:

OK, it was my mate Ian GM3SEK, so it does!

1 Like

I thought the record was made EME!

4556km tropo Brian. 4556!!!

Small beer compared to ~800,000km! Dam’ good for tropo, though!

Tom is ready.

4 Likes

He set a new 144MHz tropo record at the same time.

That 70 cm record may have been beaten today as well. Good condx on 2m, so 70cm probably also. In 2m FT8 worked easily into Spain, Germany and France from NE England (Not SOTA). And on SOTA a diamond QSO on 2m SSB from here to DM/NW-148 Hengeberg with Mario DL4MFM/P. 100 watts to a 7 element yagi at ,y end, not sure what Mario had but he peaked at 55. .

73 Phil

1 Like

Unfortunately not a cat in hell’s chance of getting a 2m antenna up today on Dun Rig GM/SS-052. Wind over 40mph plus gusts in excess of that and I could hardly stand up myself. Darn chilly as well.

74 QSOs on today’s G/SP-015 activation, all 2m.

2m FT8 - 4 QSOs
2m SSB - 51 QSOs