Windy weather

I am new to SOTA; I activated my sixth summit today. So far all one point hills. Can I bother people with a few questions.

On Friday I activated Garway Hill in the Welsh Borders, a nice open hill with good views. The weather was dry but breezy. I had alerted for 2M SSB. On putting up my Sota beam on it’s fishing pole mast I was worried to find the mast bending quite alarmingly, and the beam pointing down towards the ground at an angle of about 30degrees. Also regardless of where I pointed it, the beam worked it’s way back to pointing to Bristol. My walking companion prefers to stride off over the hills (she gets cold) so I didn’t spend long trying to to sort the antenna out and instead resorted to the rubber duck. I made the four QSO necessary to qualify the hill, with more effort on the chasers part.

What do others do in such conditions? After all this is only a one point hill, and it was hardly a gale.

Thanks
Richard
G0IBE

In reply to G0IBE:

Hi Richard

Surprisingly others also end up with their beams pointing at the ground or the sky at 30 degrees in windy conditions. You could try guying your pole at a higher point, or carry a reserve antenna such as the roll up J pole type in case of high winds. Another tip is to set just the driven elements of the beam up as a dipole, this offers less resistance to the wind.

Mike GW0DSP

In reply to G0IBE:

Hi Richard

Thank you for working me the other day,

I have just finished activating the Welsh borders and i do no how you feel.
Not only have i had the same problems but ive managed to forget my boom before for my 4 ele yagi , as GWODSP has just said use the dipole of the beam if needed.

My Windy Antenna set up=

4 Ele home brew yagi mein.DARC
Moddified old tripod
3 guy wires for the tripod. Pic here http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a128/infinitycorsa/DSCF4349.jpg

Normal conditions

4 ele home brew
Large sota pole guyed, but guyed higher

ALl for 2m ssb