USA CW Help

Any skilled CW people want to QSO? I am having trouble getting anybody to respond to CQ calls with CW, im new to it and trying to get better but its hard when you have nobody to practice with. Beers on me when we summit together.

2 Likes

Consider becoming a SOTA chaser - many SOTA activations are primarily CW and the exchanges are simple. Good practice. Also consider joining SKCC (Straight Key Century Club) - you will find CW ops looking for short and long exchanges.

1 Like

Not only SOTA, but there are a good number of POTA CW activators. The exchange is pretty much the same as SOTA. Chase both programs for some good introductory practice.

I also listen to WebSDR on my phone when out walking and such to be able to practice my head copy.

1 Like

CW Ops has a program that might help: Giving Back (On-Air Coaching) – CWops

I’d also say to make sure you’re running enough power. If I’m looking for a conversation, I’ll choose the stronger signal to make copying easier. And if I’m calling CQ, I’ll use max power (100w is all I have) to try and have the loudest signal possible. Also, if its too late or a strange time other people might just be off the air.

3 Likes

Answer a slow CQ on 14.060 or a few Khz down. That’s where QRP folks hang out, and lots of them are newbies.

Elliott, K6EL

You could join a local ham club??

I will second getting involved with SKCC (https://www.skccgroup.com/); it’s a great way to get your feet wet and gain confidence. They also have a sked page where you can find others looking for a QSO (https://sked.skccgroup.com/). SKCC has a very supportive membership for beginners.

73, Mike W5RST

1 Like