SOTABeams Linked Dipole Clips

I’ve had to replace three of the 8 alligator clips on my 20/30/40 Bandhopper antenna, two of them within a couple of weeks of each others. Has anyone else had similar experience?

I proactively replaced the last one because I noticed that it was literally hanging on by a single wire, so it would most likely have popped on my next activation.

Thanks!

Sent you an email with some pics of my 1 Alligator clip per link dipole.
Done over 300 summits and used this type of antenna for most of them.
vk5cz …

Richard,
I have been using the 40-30-20 linked dipole for about 9 months with no problem and good performance. Curious how long you have been using yours and when did this problem occur?
Thanks and regards,
Mike, WB2FUV

Hi Richard, I have had my Sotabeams band-hopper antenna for almost 7 years now and it gives great service however one change I did very early on was to change the alligator clips for 2mm gold-plated RC power connectors as I got fed up of nipping my fingers with the original clips. These power connectors (a male/female arrangement) “click” together and have worked very well in all weather conditions. You can remove the alligator clips and solder these on to the wires. No need to change any wire lengths or anything.
US$2.46 for 10 pairs.

73 Ed.

3 Likes

Richard

I solder Powerpole connectors instead of using alligator clips. It is a much more solid electrical contact than using alligator clips. I also allows you to make your own link dipoles which is quite easy

Ariel NY4G

2 Likes

Hi Richard,

I don’t use my bandhopper much these days, but I’ve replaced several of the clips, which failed the same way yours did. Under the rubber boot, there isn’t any strain relief at the solder connection and the tabs aren’t crimped down. I replaced mine with some of the same type of clips from Sotabeams but put some heat shrink over the solder joint inside the boot. No problems since. Good antenna otherwise.
73 John