SOTA Net - tonight 13 August 1900z

Dear all

The first international SOTA net will be tried out tonight at 1900z. Echolink node 611072 G3CWI-L will host the net. There are several ways of joining in:

1. directly using a computer with Echolink software (free) installed. Note that your amateur radio licence must be validated by Echolink before you can use the software.

2. using an iPhone or other smartphone (free app). Again note that your amateur radio licence must be validated by Echolink before you can use the software.

3. via an Echolink enabled amateur radio repeater or simplex node. In this case you will need a radio with a DTMF dialer to connect to the net. No validation is required although some repeater groups may require you to register to use Echolink.

As this is a test, the net will be Chaired by me, so after each over, pass the net back to me. That’s a bit formal and we can find the best format as the net develops. I should point out that I have no experience of Chairing nets :slight_smile:

Once the net begins I will go round asking each person to introduce themselves; tell us briefly about their involvment in SOTA and how they are connected into the net (radio/PC/phone).

If you want to listen in but not participate, change your name on Echolink to “listen only” and I will not call you in.

One thing we should discuss is whether there is actually a role for such a net and, if so, how frequently it should take place.

Richard
G3CWI

Echolink 611072 G3CWI-L

In reply to G3CWI:

Richard, I have hitherto stayed well away from Echolink, this is the first use for it that has perked my interest. Can you tell me what is meant by and involved in “validation”?

Brian G8ADD

In reply to G8ADD:

You have to scan the first page of the license document you have
printed off from the ofcom site and submit it to them. All the
details are on: www.echolink.org. Not sure how long validation takes
though - the site says < 24 hours.

Rick.

In reply to G8ADD: