SOTA CW for beginners

I have been learning CW since just a few months (Feb). I can recognise the numbers/letters by sound ~20wpm, at 18 a bit more comfortably. I can send ~18-20 as well, however since it is pretty an early stage, I make mistakes, I also usually need to listen to a call-sign 2-3 times, spacing usually helps. For now, I rather can do basic QSO as for activations: get the callsign, receive/send report, then TU 73… :wink:

I was wondering if it wouldn’t be quite risky to try an activation with such limited skill set - has anyone been in such a situation? Any advice?
My reason tells me - I should rather do a couple of chasings rather than an activation. My feelings tell me - go and try, everyone needs to learn at some stage and maybe it will not stick to me as a bad reputation of a LID… :slight_smile:
I am a bit more worried as this will be Ukrainian peak, last activated in 2014, so if band conditions allow, I could land in a very overwhelmed mode with a potential pile-up over there… So on one hand - learn more and go activate more comfortably, or go out of your comfort zone into the ocean and see what happens… :wink:

I would appreciate any insights, esp. of experienced hams potentially being in such a situation or experiencing others activating summits in their early learning stages. And please be frank - if it better to wait a few weeks, I am fine. Just would like to know the etiquette. Thank you in advance.

4 Likes

Hi Konrad!
Set 17 WPM then chasers will cal You 20 as you set 20 will 25 … It’s like on Polish roads with speed and road signs. I hold for you although it will be too close again.
V 73 de Mariusz

1 Like

Hello Konrad,