Questions about the rules

Hi fellows
I am new in SOTA (2 weeks) and enjoy chasing very much. While I am waiting for some ordered equipment to activate my first summit, I try to make plans for the activation.
So far I have two questions:

1. I understand that I cannot use my dog to carry radio equipment (in a pack). But can I use her to carry water, food and other things that are not specificly necessary for the activation, but nice to have?

2. Some of the summits in my area (LA/RL…) are on small islands and can be most easily approached by boat. It will only be 100-200 meters of walk to reach the top from the landing point. May I use a motorboat or must I row?

Regards and cuagn
Mike

In reply to LA5SAA:

Welcome to SOTA, Mike.

Using a dog is a new one for me! I suppose that if you can’t claim the dog is a member of the activating team then it cannot carry any equipment: I don’t see any reason why it can’t carry provisions.

Using a motorboat to reach an island is equivalent to using a car to reach a hill. As long as you don’t operate from the car on the summit the activation is valid, so I suppose as long as you don’t operate from a boat the activation is valid, not that anyone would drag a boat to the summit!

It sounds like your activations will have some unique features, let us know how you get on!

Brian G8ADD

In reply to G8ADD:
Thanks a lot for the quick answer, Brian. Sounds reasonable… Pity - my dog can carry up to 8 kg for me - and she likes to be important :-).