Pileups: When to Bow Out

As a new chaser, I will often send my callsign immediately after the last dit dit. Since I am operating full-breakin, I can hear the pileup decend on me as I proceed through my callsign. Usually I’ll quit sending at my first letter when I hear that happen as I don’t want be causing QRM and making it difficult for the activator to sort out who’s who. I’m also new to pileups.
Recently under these circumstances I got to about WB7W without completing the remaining UQ of my callsign, when with mixed feelings I hear the activator coming back to me with my incomplete callsign. That means I had to correct him or her regarding my full callsign adding to the QSO time and disrupting the rhythm.
Often I’ll just wait the pileup out and then call, but sometimes then the activator will call CQ SOTA before I call, which takes even longer.
Last night I reviewed recommendations from “The ARRL Operating Manual” (1987) regarding pileup management. Of course, at the top of the list was operating split frequency. I’ve heard a variation of that method recently when someone called slightly off-frequency and repeated their callsign three times.
73, Malcolm

1 Like