My SOTA plans for 2024 (and yours....)

(Add your own personal plans to this thread).

Well I think it’s time I stopped mucking about and completed some of the fine big ideas I had years ago.

1. Activate Ben More GM/SS-001
    I’ve been putting off this summit for 15 years, time to do it.

2. Activate Ben MacDui GM/ES-001
    Another summit I’ve been “not-activating” for far too long. Plan is to have 13cms and 23cms with me. Need some one on The Cheviot G/SB-001 as the 2 are optical LOS.

3. Finish off activating the GM/SS summits south of the Clyde and Forth.
    Just 2 remaining Mullwharchar GM/SS-073 and Craiglee GM/SS-150. Both had reputations. I’ll be doing Mullwharchar with Gerald G4OIG.

4. Reach 500 Activator Uniques.
    I’m now at 490 and there are hundreds of GM uniques for me to do. I just need to drive to them and do them. It would be nice to make Mullwharchar the 500th but sensibly I should be able to get to 500 by end of Feb if I just do them. Mullwharchar needs a nice long dry spell TBH so late Spring 2024 is more sensible.

5. Do lots and lots and lots and lots of 10m activating for the 2024 10m Challenge.
    I’d really like to have 10m QSOs into Hawaii and Alaska. And everywhere else of course. But those 2 states elude me.

6. Another activation from somewhere in an IARU African zone.
    Madeira again maybe or Tenerife or such coupled with a family holiday.

7. Finish a few RF projects that are lingering due to my ability to put today what I can still put off tomorrow.
    QO-100 system and 122GHz systems.

I’m sure there’s more. Add your own SOTA plans for 2024.

All the best for 2024.

23 Likes

Reach 15,000 activator QSOs. I’m now at 12,447. Get better at activating in the rain. Reach 10,000 s2s QSOs. Now at 9,488.

Elliott, K6EL
Sota MT

7 Likes

Share your tips when you do. A tarp keeps the rain off me but I don’t have a practical solution for preventing condensation building inside the rig.

1 Like