Learning HF Operation through SOTA + Today's 10m Opening

Hello everyone, I’ve been activating summits since mid-August and wanted to write a bit about my experience. SOTA has been my entire entry into ham radio as a hobby. I live on the bottom floor of an apartment complex with no substantial outdoor space and overhead electric lines nearby, in other words the worst case scenario for a home setup. I got my technician’s license in 2020 and promptly did absolutely nothing with it. In August I rekindled my interest and did a few SOTA activations on 2m FM. These were fun enough, and worth doing to get my feet wet, but I could tell that I was going to have a lot more fun if I got on to the HF bands.

It all happened pretty fast. I am a graduate student with no prior electrical tinkering experience, so even an entry level HF rig was a pretty major investment. I started doing research into what kind of setup I would want, meanwhile continuing to do 2m FM activations, thinking I would eventually get my general’s. Well…at some point I decided “now is the time,” studied for the General exam for an entire day, took the test the next day with a very convenient online VEC and passed on the first go.

I tried to pick a setup that would be beginner-friendly and suitable for SOTA and ended up with the Xiegu G90 and the QRP Guy’s EFHW antenna kit cut for 40m. I would highly recommend this same setup to anyone else looking to get into the HF bands for the first time via SOTA. The G90’s internal ATU means I don’t have to be a wizard at making nice antennas, 20W capabilities help push me a little beyond what QRP is capable of, and the EFHW antenna was simple enough to put together even with no prior experience soldering.