Hi from M7OKY in North Yorkshire

I recently got my foundation license because a friend told me about SOTA. I’ve been tromping around the Yorkshire Dales for a few years but have never done amateur radio before. Chasing is a challenge for me due to space constraints in my flat, so I plan to dive right in to activating. I have a cheapo Baofeng HT with the stock whip and a nice second-hand HF rig. I’m planning on activating G/NP-029 this week as an easy trial run and equipment test. Is VHF/UHF the way to go for beginners? Are there many chasers listening on weekdays?

Cheers!
-Ken
M7OKY

4 Likes

Hi Ken
Welcome to SOTA. I think you should be able to qualify on Sharp Haw with a 2m handheld as there are usually several chasers listening within range. To maximise your chances of success make sure you put up an alert and if you can get a phone signal a spot before you transmit. Even if you cannot get a signal on your phone usually a chaser will happily spot you. However, a better aerial and/or an amplifier will increase the SOTA haul!
Good luck
Nick G4OOE

Hi Ken,
being a Harrogate lad, I used to live in Burnt Yates, many moons ago.

Blencathra in Winter

I got licensed at RADARS in Ripon but never got into SOTA whilst I was living in England. My advice is to get on HF as soon as possible, you will be much less likely to miss your points when calling on HF. The solar cycle is also on the up and up, so there is a good chance you will work some nice DX contacts in the coming years, even on relatively low power. If you want to minimise the weight you carry up the hill, then learining CW is the way to go. I much prefer activating in CW compared to SSB. Half an hour’s practice every day and you will be on the air before you know it. Good luck.
73 de M0FEU/OE6FEG
Matt

2 Likes

Welcome! I’m in a very similar position having recently passed the Foundation and now venturing tentatively out into the wilds of Devon. :slight_smile:

John