First (Non) Activation Newcomer

It was a long walk! Second attempt getting to this summit but I found a way! Going to wait until I activate it to detail the route I found.

I am new to the hobby and to SOTA. I bought myself an Icom 705 and a band hopper 4 from sotabeams with the 7000mast. I was hearing a lot on 40m but not much else and some very strange interference going up and down the bands. I called cq on 80 and 40 until I got too cold and had to head down. No replies! Nice view, though!

Question for the forum, as it is a tough walk: What is the best way to get an activation in the bag? Ie which modes, spotting software etc?

Thanks

Richard 2E0TUD

11 Likes

What summit is this?

Mulen, Sogn og Fjordane.

LA/SF - 513

1 Like

When did 2E0 licences get CEPT permissions for Norway?

2 Likes

Stunning! Didn’t think I recognised it, and I’ve done every English (and Welsh) SOTA summit! I assume you’ve got a LA callsign then?

1 Like

I obtained permission for my own callsign by writing a polite letter. I can give you pointers if you would like? As for a general permission, there isn’t one!

3 Likes

Thanks. Yes, I did. This region is packed to the heavens with beautiful summits. Some of them you have to work quite hard for the points. I would like to get one activated, though. I need a friendly vhf local or maybe a portable laptop for some digimodes.

That’s impossible surely? The LA authorities would have to issue you with a callsign. Maybe they issued you with “LA/2E0TUD/P” but you can’t just obtain permission for an Intermediate call under CEPT.

Fair enough Richard. The problem you may have is LA/2E0TUD sounds like illegal operation and many hams will ignore you even though you have permission.

How long are you out in Norway?

1 Like

That is correct, they asked me to suffix LA/ which I did. The /P is optional, isn’t it? But I have been calling both.

2 Likes