A SOTA Centric End Fed Half Wave Antenna (Part 1)

I have been using end fed half wave antennas for the three years that I have been doing SOTA with satisfaction. I can count on 1 finger the only time I used a dipole. I just find it too annoying having to deal with the two legs of the dipole hanging with yet a third leg – the feedline, from the center point. The weight of the feedline can cause a mast to break at its weakest point. Stringing a dipole using a branch of a tree as a center support is also trickier.

With the end fed halfwave antennas (efhw), performance has been very repeatable, at least in my experience, with the true half wave end feds (not the shortened versions that uses coils to shorten the length of the antenna. After all the experience of activating close to 140 summits, I sought for a system that uses the bands I use to activate for SOTA, 60m for short range chasers trying to get completes, 30m and 40m for the intermediate range chasers, and 20m for the long-range chasers (coast to coast or transatlantic).

I could not find a single supplier that provides all these bands in one package and be resonant in all these bands without using a tuner. Not finding one, I made my own system which is as follows:

1. A base antenna which is an end fed half wave on 40m
  2. A link that can be disconnected at the 30m halfwave point which makes it a half wave on 30m
  3. An extension which lengthens the antenna to make it a half wave on 60m

The base antenna is resonant on 40m, 20m, 15m, 10m, and 6m. Of these 5, I use 40m and 20m for SOTA.

The overall length of the antenna is about 76 feet or so – 10 feet longer than the 40m halfwave. The extension for 60m is made shorter by a 30 microHenry coil. For 60m it is very much acting like a low dipole with the apex at 20 feet. For 30m, it acs more like a sloper with the link near the apex. For 20m and 40m it is an inverted V, a half wave radiation pattern on 40m and two half waves on 20m.