4 Metre Band

Yesterday, in a moment of madness, I picked up a 4m rig. At around 850 Grammes, it’s surprisingly light!

I know there are some very keen 4 Metre chasers who don’t see too much SOTA activity, so I thought I’d give it a try.

I’ve never used the band before, so I’m looking for antenna ideas. My initial thoughts are a simple dipole which should work quite nicely from G/SP-004 Shining Tors 559m/1836ft ASL.

Any other suggestions/comments welcomed…

73 Mike
2E0YYY

Hi Mike

Loads of ideas here;

I started with a 1/4 wave ground-plane, then a J-pole but if I do use 4 metres I have a 5/8 wave vertical.

Carolyn

The J-pole makes a decent 4m antenna Mike. > http://www.summits.org.uk/tiki-index.php?page=4m+J-pole

It even flies like a kite on SP-004 if you don’t tie wrap it to the pole… :wink:

2 Likes

Carolyn and Gerald.

Hi Carolyn,

Plenty of ideas there! Thanks for the link.

Hi Gerald,

Thanks for the link. I like the look of this one, easy to construct and nice and light.

Cheers…

73 Mike
2E0YYY

1 Like

Sounds interesting, what is the rig, Mike?

Try a Slim Jim made from 300 ohm ribbon.

Brian G8ADD

Hi Adrian,

AKD 4001. Found this on youtube

73 Mike
2E0YYY

Cheers Brian,

Didn’t realise how popular this band is.

Received a phone call and 2 texts also!

73 Mike
2E0YYY

Hi Mike,
Thanks. I’ll try to listen out for you from home, and maybe sort something out for FM portable…

Cheers
Adrian

Cheers Adrian,

Will stick some powerpoles on it, knock up an antenna and I’ll be good to go.

73 Mike
2E0YYY

PS. Was going to try it on the A-99, then again, maybe not :wink:

Hi Mike
I did most of the 116 Wainwright outlying fells with a Woxon + end fed dipole (flowerpot).Because of the length I made top half telescoping for ease of transportation
Colin

Cheers Colin,

Just talking to one or two people, seems this band can produce some serious DX when conditions are favorable.

BTW, good to see you getting amongst the VK’s in the mornings…

73 Mike
2E0YYY