35 years away from the radio

what a shock to come back to ham radio to find everything has change, WOW slowly getting there, I am totally new to this mode l am disabled so l will be what you call a chaser please don’t ask me to many questions OH just thought that’s a different show lol. I am on QRZ and if you are passing please take a loot at my page… oh well lets see how this goes

all the best
Allan G6TMO

13 Likes

Hello Allan I bet you found a few things changed since 35 years ago.
Well first you are back just in time for the new sunspot cycle to get started.
There are plenty of Portable / QRP activities now days SOTA , POTA ,WWFF and a few other portable activities that use the internet as a back bone to help you know who is taking part in what. The SW3 site being the premium world wide site SOTA is a fantastic way to get some travel, exercise and radio fun all at the same time.
Best regards
Ian vk5cz …

Thanks so much for getting back to me and yes a lot has changed but getting there now I will say there is no fun in getting old lol

allan g6tmo

1 Like

Hi Allan,
Welcome back to amateur radio!

Agreed…but SOTA does help take the edge off!

Adrian G4AZS

1 Like

HI again just remembered my friend lives in a SA in Aldinga she has been to my. home here in the UK when she comes back to visit her sister. small world hey

regards
allan

1 Like

Welcome back Allan!
Yes, nice thing about ham radio is that in addition to changing, it waits patiently for school, family, military, etc… Saw your QRZ page; clearly you’re a man of many talents.
All Best, Ken

Agreed! I don’t like to hear something like it’s nice to getting old. (It doesn’t mean I like to die young. But meanwhile also impossible when retired. :wink:)

HA ! Yes, Allan, I’ll bet it’s a real culture shock listening to the
bands today. I am active every day and sometimes I sit and
wonder what has happened to ham radio.
And yes, growing old is not for sissies!
John, K6YK

1 Like