10K S2S Points & Thanks!

During the Covid pandemic looking for something to do, I studied for my Foundation license. One day whilst using my radio in the Peak District, I heard a strange conversation. It turned out to be someone activating Kinder Scout. I kept hearing the term SOTA being used… when I got home, I looked it up. Being a keen walker I was intrigued. The following weekend I trekked up Shining Tor, with a Boafeng. Despite the snow, I managed to activate the summit with six QSOs. Two and a half years later, at the Lake District meet this weekend, I hit a personal goal of 10,000 S2S points. I would just like to thank all the Activators that have helped me get there and all the other Chasers. Despite poor band conditions, on Sunday I was on G/LD-050. I managed to get 37 S2Ss. To be honest with my goal in sight, I was going to stay on the summit for as long as it was going to take!

On Gummers Howe G/LD-050 in sweltering heat!

Lots of people have supported me in this crazy goal, including my XYL Julie. Also thanks to Dave M0JKS, who has shared a few summits with me.

36 Likes

Congratulations Martin on achieving 10K summit to summit points.

Jimmy M0HGY

3 Likes

Very Well Done, Martin. Fantastic Score. Thanks for all the QSO’s. I look forward to hearing you again soon. Best Wishes for the future, Martin. 73 de Paul M0CQE.

1 Like

Hello Martin, I am happy to be part of your achievement,… Ec2ag Antonio

2 Likes

Well done Martin, great achievement. Glad to be part of your journey with a few s2s under our belt😁.

73 Allan GW4VPX

1 Like

Well done Martin I am made up for you. You deserve it mate.
Best 73

2 Likes

Congratulations! Should get the “numb bum” award for all that summit sitting! :rofl:

4 Likes

Congratulations Martin!
73 Fabio

1 Like

My best wishes for this challenge! S2S is also my favorite thing! Hope to S2S you again soon.
73 Chris

1 Like

Hi Martin,

Huge congrats :beers: