Sorry to qrx you G3RDQ David and ES-039 & ES-054 s

During my second activation today on es-054 Tap o’Noth my antenna started falling down, the fishing pole was collapsing section by section. I was trying to hold it together to finish the qso David, but couldn’t copy you and keep the antenna from coming down, not a multi-tasker you see.
So I wonder what you finished with, I came back on briefly but had to get home for my son when he finished school.

I had some interesting propagation this afternoon, when Bill W4ZV called in at 1335z. There was an echo, not something I’ve experienced before, but I’m still new to the hobby. Any ideas? The echo was slight but noticeable. Long path/short path?

Wx very different to yesterday, weak front from the north. It was windy, wet and cold, the bothy bag was very good though and made it possible to activate for a little while. As I descended ES-054 the sun came out and the wind dropped, visibility improving too.

Ian MM0GYX

In reply to MM0GYX:

During my second activation today on es-054 Tap o’Noth my antenna
started falling down, the fishing pole was collapsing section by
section. I was trying to hold it together to finish the qso

Hi Ian

To help stop your fishing pole collapsing mid-activation (been there) make sure it dried completely when you get home. I usually take each section out and if really wet I push kitchen towel through the insides and leave to dry over night.

If you are doing a multi-activation I carry a small absorbent cloth to give the pole a wipe before before collapsing it down. This helps when it is rain all day as you well know there is a lot of it here in Scotland!

Hope these wee points help in the future

73 Neil 2M0NCM

In reply to 2M0NCM:

Neil,

Thanks for the tip, I’ll try that in future. It was pretty squally as the front came through and was probably always going to collapse one way or the other. Good fun though.

Ian MM0GYX

In reply to MM0GYX:

Ian,