APRS on the hills

I know this was mentioned a few weeks ago, about following stations up mountains with aprs, I have never done anything like this before, so can anyone tell me what i need to start aprs from a portable side of things and from homebase, From a mobile side of things i have a Yeasu ft857 & ft8900, From portable Yeasu vx-150 (if can use aprs).
All information welcomed on reflector or by personal e-mail m0sgb@yahoo.co.uk

Steve m0sgb

In reply to M0SGB:
Hi Steve,

I use a Kenwood TH-D7 & a garmin GPS (Foretrex). I am tempted by the new VX-8R but it’ll probably be too expensive for a while yet.

If you don’t want to use a dedicated radio, I believe the ‘tinytrak’ kits are good http://www.byonics.com/ but I have no personal experience of them.

All the best,
Dick.

In reply to M0SGB:

It’s something I want to have a play with aswell Steve.

You need the following bits: GPS receiver, ham transmitter, APRS encoder. Normally you connect the GPS to the APRS encoder and the encoder to the transmitter. The GPS then sends its position to the encoder, that converts the data to packet tones and the transmitter sends them out. That’s it in a nutshell.

That all becomes a bit messy when you think of all the cables and settings and whatnot that is needed. So… life is easier if you use something like a Kenwood TH-D7E which is a handy and packet TNC in one package. Then you only need to select a suitable GPS receiver and connect it to the D7E. I don’t think Kenwood make the D7E anymore so if you haven’t got one you’d need to find a secondhand one.

Or you can buy “trackers” which consist of an embedded GPS receiver and encoder in a tiny package. All you need to do then is connect that to your handy’s mic and ptt connections. There are many people selling trackers, these people seem to be well respected http://www.byonics.com but a Google search will throw up lots of info. Likewise searching Google for APRS will provide you with more info than you may want.