ACR 2880 Emergency Personal Locator Beacon Review - PLB

I have been hiking with a PLB in my pack for two years. Here is link to a quick review I wrote of the device I use. Click link PLB review

Hi Walt,

Same here; Kay (KE7BGM) and I carry a slightly different model of the same unit for the same reason.
When I’m solo, bushwhacking out in the wilderness, I carry it. Even when we’re together, we take it, because neither of us would be able to get the other out for a major problem, and cell service in S. AZ is marginal, at best. It’s a very nice backup.

Lately, I’ve been taking the DeLorme in-reach, as well; that allows Kay or chasers to keep track of my position for SOTA purposes, as well as peace of mind.

Thanks for the reflector post.
Ken, K6HPX

2 Likes

Hi Ken,
I’ve been using aprs for tracking, with good success here in Colorado. The DeLorme looks very nice and lightweight and has some interesting features. I think ACR may also be offering a similar subscription service to DeLorme for those who want to broadcast real time tracking info.

73, Walt W0CP

I’m also often out alone and originally I took a satellite phone. In theory great but the practice was poor reception, dropped calls and far too expensive. When the contract was up for renewal I gladly opted for a deLorme inReach which I have been super impressed with especially to Ken’s point that people (wife, possible chasers and others) can follow where I am. Despite it subscription I am happy with its value.

The western US is a vast, inhospitable and lonely place when you are in trouble.

Paul

And you can use an InReach to self-spot your SOTA activations too!

1 Like

I see that deLorme is now part of Garmin.
Rod

Yes, and since Garmin took over, the InReach message format has changed and changed and changed which forces a job onto to me to keep up with them when handling self-spots. Grrr!

I also have the Garmin inReach Explorer and it’s loaded with features I really like it a lot, including: