Wow I'm Amazed

I’m sorry fror putting this on but I have just had a sota contact namely AC3B Jim in USA I can’t believe it.
Thanks ever so much for the 57 report Jim and Best 73s

6 Likes

Congrats!!
Tell us about your setup, band and summit…
73!

Well I was chasing from home Roberto where I have the yaesu FT991A with 140 foot end fed long wire with a 49:1 balun about 15 feet in the air and running 10 watts so nothing special bu7t I do seem to get out well from this location.

best 73s

3 Likes

Indeed you do.
I also chased him with my 3 elements yagi on 20m up 15m above the ground and 100W PEP, but he only gave me a 22 report…
Congrats for the DX chase!

Guru

1 Like

Allen @2E0AGB congrat’s
I’ve a question about your EFHW antenna, what is the orientation of the wire ? May be east west !
73 Éric

Well done, I have been chasing SOTA since 2016, and have yet to hear / work anything outside of Europe !!

Hi Eric… Sorry I couldn’t tell you mate. I would think it’s north west direction though as because the garden is a communal one I have it fastened between washing line posts ( with extension poles on ) from the house to a distant one, but thinking about where the cities are etc. I would think it is north west.

Well done Guru was that today round about the 13:30 mark ? was on 20metres for me and I don’t usually do well on that band.

Best 73 mate

My chase took place about 50 minutes earlier than the time you mention.
imagen
It seemed to me like he wasn’t having a clear copy at that time, because I was copying him well but he only gave me a 22 and I needed 2 or 3 repeats until he managed to copy my callsign. At the same time, there was EA1DHB calling Jim, but he wasn’t apparently able to pull his callsign out of the noise.

Guru

Lucky [edit without further notice by an MT member]! :+1: I could not even hear his signal in the noise on the vertical at my /a QTH in DM/TH.

Ahoi
Pom