Where did it go?

Hey everyone.

It seems a change in careers, some increasing health issues, and life in general has moved me away from SOTA. But the last few weeks we have been asked to practice “Social Distancing”, and the control room is now limited to the on-duty crew, everyone else stand by at home. So I’ve become a little more active of late. There is talk of a control room lock down, and as a senior operator I expect to be called up. But so far El Paso has been relatively virus free. The recommendation is groups no larger than 10, restaurants only allowed 1/2-capacity, and social distancing. So a lock-down of the electric utility control room is not imminent. Yet. Sunlight and exercise away from others is being encouraged (UV light kills it). Sounds like a summit to me!

Trying to get a grasp of all the changes. One thing that seems to have slipped away was the Google Earth .KML file. As I recall, before the demise of Yahoo Groups, there was a Yahoo Group called SUMMITS. Within that group was a file that was sometimes updated called Summits.kml. If possible, I’d like to rediscover where the file is available now. I find Google Earth quite valuable for activating and chasing, but I today discovered my present file is nearly a year out of date. Any direction to that file much appreciated.

Vy73 – Mike – El Paso, TX – DM81rt.

1 Like

Hi Mike,
Welcome back.

Regional KML files of the particular area you are interesting in can be generated from the SOTAMaps site here - https://www.sotamaps.org/ (or linked to from various SOTA websites).

73 Ed DD5LP

I still produce this file as part of my normal workflow, but both of the places that I used to upload it to have gone away.