Using a DC DC Converter on battery to power rig?

I am currently studying for my foundation licence and can’t wait to combine my love of hill walking with my new hobby.

I have a 40v LiPo 16Ah battery that is used on my electric cycle. I’m not suggesting taking this up a mountain as it weighs 5kg. I do however want to use it whilst camping on a site during my stay in the hills. I have ordered this ( http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/181347093991 )to allow me to run cycle lights from the battery. However when I’m camping for several days and between activations I still want to use my rig. Could I set this converter for example at 13.8V 8A (Yaesu 857d) and operate QRP? I can’t see a problem, however damaging relatively cheap cycle lights is ok compared to wrecking my Yaesu.

I don’t have the depth of knowledge yet!

As a future project I’m interested in building a Soln1 as described on laserhacker.com (LaserSaber Alternative Energy | DIY projects, inventions, experiments and More) for camping use and qrp work, but for now I’m happy using my bike battery and ‘learning’ from there.

In reply to DAVE:

It will do as it says, convert an input voltage range to an output. Things which you don’t know:

regulation: is it any good or does the output voltage jump about when the load changes

Noise: does it produce huge amounts of RF hash when in use. This may be less of an issue on TX. If it blanks the bands then it’s not much good for radio.

RF immunity: will it keep working as intended in an RF field.

Overvoltage protection: when the switcher transistors go pfffft and fail, will the full input voltage appear on the output.

How do you find out? You could ask the vendor. Whether they know or would tell you is debatable. Or you buy one, it’s only £11.50 and try it.

I realise you may be hoping for a yes / no answer. Sadly it’s not that simple.

Best of luck with the course/exam.

Andy
MM0FMF

In reply to DAVE: