USB-C PD power for the KX2

I am not an electrical engineer, so I don’t know whether this was a good idea or not. I’m curious to hear yalls’ thoughts.

Since both weight and space are concerns on longer hiking and camping trips, I abjure the idea of bringing single-purpose batteries. Why should I bring a battery that only powers the KX2? I also need a battery bank to top up my cell phone, so shouldn’t I be able to use that for everything?

I’m not inclined to homebrew a LiFePo4 battery bank–see previous re: not an electrical engineer. Nor am I keen to use a step-up voltage adapter to make a 5V battery bank supply 12V for the KX2 since I’ve heard that can have bad effects on the output RF. I took the easy route and bought a USB-C Power Delivery-capable power bank. PD is a protocol for negotiating power supply between devices, and there are various little boards you can buy that act as configurable terminators for homebrew devices. I don’t like that they’re mostly naked PCBs, and cases for them are hard to come by, and I’m lazy, so instead of using one of those I found a cable that includes a built-in terminator for 12V PD, cut the end off, and soldered on a barrel adapter. As an added bonus, I can power the KX2 from a USB-C PD wall charger when I’m using it in my shack at home… or could, if I had anywhere to put an antenna at home…

I don’t think there’s any step up/step down conversion involved so it seems safe to me. I’ve made several contacts over FT8 using this arrangement, but given the insane amount of error correction involved with that I doubt I’d notice any negative effects anyway.

Time to learn then. Enjoyment gained from using homebrewed equipment greatly exceeds that from using stuff you bought. ISTR the license document says one of the conditions of the licence is self-training in radio communication.

I have a power bank which can be used for jump starting cars. It’s got a 12V output as well as 2 USB ports. There’s also a 19V output for laptops.