Unable to tune EFHW on 17-15m.

I recently constructed a simple linked EFHW based on the design by VK1NAM (Link End Fed Half Wave Antenna and Tuner for SOTA | Get out of the Radio Shack and Live Life), however I have cut the lengths for the CW ends of the bands.

Using either my BLT tuner or my qrpguys EFHW Mini-Tuner the antenna tunes and works fine on 40, 30 and 20m. However, I simply cannot get it to tune on either 17 or 15m with either tuner. I have tried many options of lengthening and shortening the 1/2 wire and the counterpoise lengths to no avail. The BLT tuner can tune a normal 1/2 wave doublet or dipole on those frequencies so I know the toroids are properly wound. I have triple checked the toroids on the qrpguys mini-tuner and all is fine in that respect.

I may have access to a MFJ antenna analyzer but not sure how useful that will be with a high impedance EFHW wire??

Any ideas on where to start are greatly appreciated - I am not an antenna expert! Thanks.

Hi Larry,
I have been using the EARC antenna http://www.earchi.org/92011endfedfiles/Endfed6_40.pdf and found the very same problem of not been able to tune it on 17m with my MFJ-941B tuner.
It was like that when the RG58 coax length from the unun to the radio was 5m. One day I changed that RG58 coax length to about 30cm of 75 ohm coaxial and the impossible to tune 17m band became easily tuneable without loosing the ability to tune on all the other bands.
For various reasons, I gave up using that short length of 75 ohm coax and I just use a short 50cm or so length of 50 ohm RG58 and the antenna is back untunable on 17m.
The usual length of the radiating wire is 10m, but sometimes I use a longer wire of 21m. The impossibility to tune on 17m with the 21m long wire remains the same.
I hope this may give you a clue on things to try with your antenna.

Guru

Take out that capacitor and check the lowest possible capacitance. Often you have to adjust the screws on the back to get a good low capacitance.