U.S. SSB Calling Freq

I am planning a trip Monday to attempt to activate a summit that has no recorded activiations yet.

I am new to HF and have been so focused on learning cw that I have yet to use SSB, however I am not ready for cw. I see a lot of different answers to what freq to use for ssb (different countries, etc.). What calling freq should I use in the usa for 20m and 40m ssb?

Casey,

There are no exact calling frequencies for SOTA. Most SSB activators will be at the higher end of the band such as 14.345 or 14.347 MHz depending on what frequencies are clear in order to stay away from high power stations. On 40 meters, some ops prefer to at 7.285 MHz or higher but there are a lot of nets on 40 meters. I like to find a clear frequency around 7.190 MHz. FYI if you can operate 17 meters, SSB activators will use any clear frequency they can find but there is the HF Pack QRP calling frequency at 18.157.5 MHz where you might find some contacts.

Scott
Los Angeles

Casey, I agree with Scottā€™s numbers above. It is always best to put out an Alert for your proposed activation so the chasers will know where and when to look for you.
Have Fun, Gary

That is good advice. However, I see a LOT of self-spots where the OM just puts ā€œ7, 14, 21 MHz. SSBā€ or ā€œ20m SSBā€ for example. So, what frequency is that specifically?

I see that a lot on alerts, but not on spots.

1 Like

Hi Casey,
If you hope to get some DX into Europe on 40m - make sure you donā€™t go above 7.2 MHz as 7.2-7.3 is not part of the 40m amateur band in IARU region 1.

20m is OK - we have the full 14-14.350MHz available and are allowed to use it.

A lot of times an activator will go to the QRP ā€œcentre of activityā€ frequency while when operating portable we often run low power. So these would be 7.090 or 7.118 or sometimes 7.188 on 40m and 14.285 on 20m - note from what is said above, these are different frequencies in the US, but they are in band for both IARU region 1 & 2.