Thinking of getting a Mountain Topper (MTR-3B)

I’m thinking of getting a Mountain Topper 3B while I continue to learn CW. Do I need an antenna tuner for this radio? Or just a good antenna?

Should I hold off on ordering the Mountain Topper 3B while I am still learning CW?
( I hear of a 5 bander coming?)

I also really would like to use a straight key as I am still learning and a paddle seems kind of overwhelming. I hear I would need a special plug to do so? Where can I get one?

I do not have any CW equipment at the moment. I do have a home made CW key made from a clothes pin hooked up to a raspberry pi though, so I can practice transmitting.

1 Like

The Mountain Toppers are a neat little radio although to my mind 2.5W is a bit under powered.
There is quite a bit of sunspot activity and I would lean towards a 5W CW qrp rig. I built Steve Webers KD1JV tribander which has given good results for my SOTA activations.
I use a KM2 tuner with the tribander and suspect the M Topper will need a tuner as well.
Unless your aerials are well tuned which sometimes may be a bit difficult to do at random settings up at different summits.
Have read of the 5 bander which is in the pipeline, keep in mind they are a surface mount component radio which may be a bit daunting for some home constructors. Don’t know whether the 5 bander can be bought assembled. Should be a interesting qrp radio when they do become available.
On keys if you are still in the process of learning morse suggest a simple straight key for a start.
Get to know the code, have a few on air contacts and when you feel comfortable with your cw then make the transition to a paddle.
I don’t know about the key’s plugs for the M Topper but suspect they would be the same as the Tri Bander. A 3.5 mm mono plug for a straight key and a stereo plug for the paddle.