Telegraphie beginner has some questions

I am a beginner in telegraphy, especially in decoding. To overcome my shyness for this mode of operation, I have confirmed a few sota activators as a chaser. I kept my text as simple as possible. Here’s an example:
A: CQ Sota call …
C: DL1CR
A: DL1CR … RST 599 … BK
C: BK RST 599 73 e e
A: 73 e e … CQ Sota call …
is this a valid Sota QSO and acceptable?
73 Chris, DL1CR

1 Like

Hi Chris, in short, Yes, but giving the summit reference occasionally would be good.
73 Neil

I recommend sending the caller’s callsign at least once so everyone listening knows who the report is sent to and who is to respond.

CQ DL1CR k
VK1DA
VK1DA de DL1CR 559 bk
R ur 559 559 BK
R 73 TU

This can be expanded as you get more familiar with it. Dots and decorations at the end are optional but not required.

Thanks for using CW.

73 Andrew VK1DA/VK2UH

4 Likes

Hi Chris,
I find your example OK but I’d suggest a couple of modifications which you’ll find in bold.
A: CQ Sota call SOTA K
C: DL1CR
A: DL1CR GM/GA/GE UR 599 (DL1CR*) BK (*activator should better send chaser callsign at the begining AND at the end of his transmission when the pile up is big and/or when he noticed other chasers were still sending their call when he started responding to his chaser, as they may be unable to copy the chaser callsign sent by the activator in the begining due to being doubling and they won’t know who the activator is talking to until they hear him repeat the chaser callsign again at the end of his transmission. This practice is redundant and can be abandoned when the number of chasers in the pile-up decreases and the activator sees no risk of doubling yourself with other chasers)

We CWers usually say UR 599 instead of RST 599.