SOTA vs Contests

Folks,

I am a raw beginner on SOTA things, as a chaser and an activator, but have really enjoyed myself with the scheme so far. I use various Elecraft rigs, and am solely a CW op, by choice.

However, it does seem that as SOTA gets more popular it might be losing a little of its shine for me, and perhaps others. Where only a little while ago it was possible to ‘help’ an activator by contacting them, now it is often not even possible to make that contact. There are unbreakable pile ups on some activations, and much of the proceedings seems to be done at high speed, which excludes many from taking part. I admire those who can read CW in their head, and send at 35wpm, but there are those of us that can’t do those things, and some, like me, who will never reach such dizzy heights.

To cap it all, a friend went out portable last week, and was calling CQ. He got an answer - “SOTA?”, when he sent ‘no’ the guy at the other end b******* off without a report, or any other response. At least he was ‘out there’, which the ‘chaser’ probably was not!

Now if SOTA is going to become just a way of ‘contesting’ on the WARC bands, it will spoil it for many. I have stood on a hill freezing in the wind, and know what a pain it can be to have long winded and slow stations telling you their life history, but please, the idea was to get people out with their radios into the fresh air… or have I misunderstood it all?

Les g0nmd

In reply to G0NMD:

What changes would you make to the rules to make SOTA be what you want?

How will you enforce them?

Andy
MM0FMF

In reply to G0NMD:
Les,
Enjoy your version of SOTA… getting out there and doing your own thing will bring you the pleasure, as for 35wpm, you know not everyone goes like Billy Whizz on the key, work the ones you can. In SOTA as in life you will always have the “One” take them in your stride and forget them… enjoy SOTA as I do activating and chasing… No worries.

Steve MW0BBU.

Hi Les,