Sota news - february 2014

SOTA NEWS - FEBRUARY 2014

EDITORIAL - Skip K6DGW

This is my first attempt at filling Roy’s shoes and I’m certain it will take awhile to get the details worked out, Roy is a very hard act to follow. Located as I am on the western edge of North America and 8 hours behind UTC, there may be some “publishing timing hiccups,” and hopefully a more experienced Editor in the UK can be found.

I apologize in advance for any formatting errors in the tables, Roy gave me a detailed account of his procedures but I’m certain it will take me a couple of months to figure out how the Reflector “helps” me out. :slight_smile: It will also take a bit to get the hang of the various sections Roy included, I hope you can all bear with me.

I answer to either “Fred” or “Skip,” we have a couple of very active “Fred’s” in NA SOTA and it became confusing so I switched to a nickname I’ve had for many years and often use on the radio in contests that have a name in the exchange.

My thanks to my contributors this month: Andy, MM0FMF; Barry, GM4TOE; Allen, VK3HRA; Rob, G4RQJ [and Audrey]; Mark, G0VOF; Scott, W7IMC

DATABASE NEWS: Andy, MM0FMF

Fat finger trouble by yours truly. A simple update to fix some W6 bonus problems went a bit wrong. Some W6 regions give bonus points when they shouldn’t. My fix solved that. But it did it using the “take off and nuke it from orbit” method by ensuring no summits anywhere had bonus points. :frowning: