SOTA in Los Angeles?

It seems like I might be off on a last minute trip to LA soon so am wondering whether I should take the ft817 out with me and activate some summits. I’m exploring the SOTA Maps and understand we might initially be staying in the Fairfax District so I would welcome any comments/suggestions on which summits are easy to get to (drive ups?) & activate.
Also, any advice on airport security matters? By the way, I’ve taken the ft817 to Italy & Portugal so am familiar with Europe but this is my first time to the US so is there any advice out there specifically about getting through LAX?

73 Lea.

1 Like

There’s a whole reflector section for transport security.

1 Like

I’ve done a couple of videos on travelling with batteries, radio, masts etc.

Your airline will have specific watts per hr limit in batteries. Generally it is 100. BA is 150.
Put simply, radio batteries, antenna in hand luggage. Mast, sharp stuff (tent pegs etc) in the hold.

2 Likes

To the list above, I’add the coax cable. Remove anything from carry-on luggage that you can easily replace at your destination.
Going to Canada and back to Switzerland last year, I had a printout of IATA regulations as well as CEPT recommendation, my licence (credit card style) and logbook with me.

73 de Martin / HB9GVW

1 Like

To the West near Topanga there’s W6/CT-274, Saddle Peak. Nice walk to summit with great views. I’ve twice flown into LAX without issues with radio gear (KX1/dipole).

2 Likes

Check with N6AN, K6RIN, K6CPR and others. They activate hilltops
around there almost daily. There are many that are basically in the city.
73 and good luck!
John, K6YK

2 Likes

Best info here: SoCalSota@groups.io | Home

The W6 ARM has some useful info including a reminder to the Europeans that there isn’t the “every man’s right” thing here.

sotl.as and filter activations > 5 or 10 to see what’s popular.