SOTA ...Ham Radio with a Positive Altitude

Ham Radio with a Positive Altitude!

40 Likes

I read that on the Zed earlier today, its good publicity!

3 Likes

Such great coverage, great community, and without a doubt an inlet for new operators. Good Stuff!

3 Likes

A good article in a magazine whose readership is not necessarily ham radio operators but outdoor enthusiasts . It will be interesting to hear any newly licensed SOTA activators on the air because they found out about our hobby through this publication.

Scott

5 Likes

I could not agree more Scott. I am a newer operator myself, I decided to get into radio specifically because of SOTA. After being here for a few months I have to say I am more than impressed with the community, im sure others will be as well.

2 Likes

Excellent article. I enjoyed reading it, and it shows SOTA, and amateur radio in general in a very positive light. Well done Steve and all involved.

Of course most of us are radio amateurs that get into hiking because of SOTA, and indeed that was part of John G3WGV and Richard G3CWI’s initial vision for the scheme. There have been several over the years who were hikers that got into AR because of SOTA though. Perhaps the “original” such person was Shirley MW0YLS, now sadly SK, but who was the first GW Mountain Goat, and the first female MG in the whole programme.

Shirley was an accomplished hillwalker who got on a course and took her licence exams solely so she could take part in SOTA. The photo below shows her operating on Mynydd Enlli GW/NW-072 on a memorable SOTA expedition to Bardsey Island.

9 Likes

My friend (a climber not a ham) just sent me a link to the article. Very nice!

1 Like

Congrats Steve for playing a star role in a great article! Should reach a wide audience and it portrays amateur radio in a generally positive way. My cell phone news feed popped up with “Inside the Summit-Obsessed World of Ham Radio” and it sure captured my interest!
Keith KR7RK

2 Likes