SOTA at a football stadium? A tale of four ‘First Time’ activations in I/LZ

Compared to others I’m relatively new to Amateur Radio and during lockdown, I went from Zero to M Zero in just over five months. One thing that really spurned me on to go for the Full ticket was the thought of lockdown ending and being able to operate abroad and finally get my opportunity to combine my passion for visiting hill top towns in Italy with operating /P. After not being on a plane for two years, I’m finally in a car heading for the airport and bound for Rome!
For these sorts of trips I would normally travel hand luggage only, so, I printed off extra copies of my licence/HAREC docs and added them to my ‘lite’ go-bag for radio which, for this trip, consisted of:

• Used Yaesu FT-817,
• re-celled internal 2400mAh Ni-Mh battery pack
• cigarette lighter charging cable
• 4.1m telescopic pole (nb: this collapses to 51cm so easily fits into the hand luggage).
• SOTABEAMS speech compressor
• Nano VNA
• dual band whip, and
• homebrew EFHW cut for 20m made a few days earlier

At the airport security, I placed the 817 into a tray and watched it go through the x-ray machine and then slide over into the additional scrutiny lane. As it was being swabbed down I was asked what it was (nb: just in case, I had set it to BBC R4 and had the whip close to hand too). Shortly after, it was given the all clear and I was relieved that it all went much easier than expected!
Six hours later I arrived at my final destination, a hill top town (+450m ASL) located between Rome and Naples with a backdrop consisting of the snow capped Abruzzo mountains rising to about +1200m to the north.