SOTA - Are You Contacting the Germans?

Evening All

After an activation of GW/SW-011 (Sugarloaf) Today i was asked by a member of the public if i was trying to contact the germans and asking them to come and bomb our country

to which ofcourse my reply was that i was a Radio Amateur acctivating the Summit in the Summits on the Air Reward Program to which the reply i got was oh that looks like some very expensive sophisticated equipment and she walked away

So We are Contacting The Germans Now are we ??? hihi

Matt M3WDS

In reply to M3WDS:

I can 1+ that… During my Saturday activation of W2/GC-001 one of the hikers coming through asked if I was planning a terrorist attack…

I sigh’ed and said actually im talking to my brother in Philadelphia…

“Wouldnt a cellphone have been easier…”

some people will never get it lol

In reply to M3WDS:
I invariably get “Are you talking to space aliens?”. Standard response is "Yes I am. Do you mind if I take your picture?"
Stu

In reply to M3WDS:

While on a roadtrip to Kentucky a few years ago I stopped at a gas station to work a satellite pass with my arrow beam.

A group in a pickup truck that met many negative Kentucky stereotypes asked in a serious way if I was contacting Bin Laden. I explained what I was doing and asked why they thought I was calling Bin Laden…they said because I was at a gas station with that antenna.

Tom-N2YTF

“How are we doing in the test match?”
"The things that some people will do to get Channel 5"
“Are you working for the KGB?”

…and some other rather unsavoury xenophobic stuff.

The only original, witty and mildly intelligent joke was by a girl who was about 11 years old:

“Are you fishing for contacts?” (my aerial was mounted on a fishing pole).

Tom M1EYP

Unspectacular but absolutely number 1 in DL: “What do you measure?”

Jörg DL1DLF (urgently searching headphones)

In reply to M1EYP:

So far…

" are you looking for satellites ?"
" ah, a weatherman"

my standard reply

" I’m a propagationologist"