School boy error on first hf activation

After todays complete disaster activating my first Hf summit I feel I owe an apology and some sort of explantion though there are no excuses to hide behind as I am an experienced operator but it goes to show we can all make a mess of it.

My xyl has her cousin over on holiday fro Canada at the moment and decided that they wanted to go to Edinburgh for a couple of days including an overnight stay and I was nominated the driver to take them from the home qth to Edinburgh, so I though a nice small detour on way back to catch a nice easy sota summit Job done!. Thinking is one thing putting it into practice is another, I have a small rucksack to which I kept all my HF sota gear in for a number of years (and never used it) so today was the day, That was till I came home from my usual morning swim and my wife had emptied the rucksack and gave it to her cousin not a problem I think Cairnpapple must be one of the easiest sota summits in Scotland being only 5 minutes walk from the road I’ll just throw the kit into a shopping bag job done.

After dropping the entrpid tourists at the outskirts of Edinburgh to get a tram and save me fighting in the horrendus traffic job done or so I thought. I arrived at the parking spot and grabbed my gear got to the trig point/Summit got set up in 15mins 6 mt Tactical pole and sotabeams bandhopper and it all went downhill from there I had intended to fix the pole to the trig point I had only brought 1 bungee not only I forgot to lift a notepad but also my reading glasses disater unfolding beneath my very eyes that I could not see anything with. I thought I’ll record the qso’s with my phone but to no avail I could not make out the icons. The trig point had a hole in it so I jammed the pole in that and the antenna was up I decided to carry on and just ask stations to contact me and I would fill in my log retrospectively no point in wasting the day completely.