S2S with Andrew VK1AD, Australia to California

Read on if interested …

Paul

8 Likes

Hi Paul,

Nice to see it done the hard way, using a mic.

Mike
2E0YYY

3 Likes

Nice one Paul, I don’t know how many times people told me how my Buddipole is completely inadequate for SOTA :slight_smile: - congratulations…

Matt/KØMOS

Matt

Thanks and I’ve had a lot of good experiences with my Buddipole including DX. For example the week before during the EU-NA Sota event I nabbed 3 EU stations albeit non SOTA.

Paul

Well done Paul, I would say experiment successful, so when will the VK-NA or NA-VK, if you prefer, S2S event be?

Are the NA operators willing to activate in Winter or is waiting for Spring a better/safer idea?

73 Ed.

Same here Paul… many DX with my BP.

Matt

Congrats Paul, especially with multiband QSOs. What’s special about “WhatsApp”? You said on your blog that “This is the first summit to summit contact between North America and Australia”, I didn’t know that it hadn’t been done before. Very nice.

I’m up for Winter activations. Spring is good too. anyone know what’s best from a propagation point-of-view? Time of day? I’m on the NA East coast.

[deleted incorrect memory of previous cw contacts]

Even more impressive given the current sunspot levels.

VK1DA/VK2UH (one of the many other Andrews)

Congratulations to you and @VK1AD on the SSB NA-VK S2S.

[quote=“W6PNG, post:4, topic:14249”]good experiences with my Buddipole including DX[/quote]I suspect that has a lot to do with your using it “in full length dipole configuration”. Too often they’re used with a loading-coil of some sort, and those seem to soak up the power…

Well done
KX0R is the operator I have worked the most from a summit in usa but I don’t claim my end as portable or s2s just from my home station. So its possible with right band conditions.

Hi Andrew

Check VK3WAM’s activations. He wasn’t in VK he was visiting North America.

Andrew VK1AD