Radio Kits Explorer SSB/CW transceiver

An interesting new rig has been designed by Steve G6ALU and has recently been released for general sale. Steve G6ALU is the guy behind the famous MKARS80 LSB rig.

I found out about the Explorer rig in December and I thought it would be something nice to spend my Christmas funds on. I had been looking to get a QMX but it seems to me like the QMX is still very much in the development stage at this point.

The Explorer kit cost £120 for all options shipped to my door - I ordered on Sunday and received it on Tuesday!

The build was quite lengthy, I spread it over several days, but everything went together perfectly and there were no issues. There are a lot of parts!

The frequency error was a couple of tens of Hertz, so hardly worth bothering with calibration.

The audio from the little speaker is surprisingly good and there aren’t any annoying rattles as experienced with some other transceivers.

The CAT function worked well - I’m not good with computers but I got the rig talking to WSJT-X with no trouble via the built in USB and after plugging in a 3.5mm audio cable to the computer soundcard I was instantly receiving FT8.

The radio just worked - there literally was no issues with the build at all.