Radiation diagrams EFHW 20m long

I am still very convinced of my 20m long EFHW. Today I took out the radiation diagrams that I calculated some time ago. As with many activations, the conditions are as follows. The entry point with the 1:64 unun (or rather RF transformer) is approx. 3m high, the end point is usually 6-7m and hangs on a rope in the tree.
In the diagrams, the entry point is in the center, the end point on the right side at 90 degrees.
What is surprising for 14MHz is the fairly flat radiation with gain at 90 °
But see for yourself.

2 Likes

I’ve been using a 20-meter long EFHW on my sota tours for several years now. It’s actually a dipole cut for the 40-meter band.
The performance on the 20 meter band is fantastic. Since then I have always made a good amount of QSO’s on that band, despite the poor propagation. It is common to make QSOs with the USA or Canada.
I put it in an inverted V on a 9 meter rod. With the ends one meter off the ground.
Highly recommended.

Juan

1 Like

Hello Chris

Thanks for sharing the information. I am also using this version of Endfed for 7,10 and 14 MHz with a 1:64 transformer using a 4C65 core material.
What does your transformer look like? Because of the relatively low permability of the core I use compared to an Amidon 43 the 4C65 needs more windings. So the performance of my transformer is only usable up to 14 MHz with low SWR. I cannot operate it on 21 or 28 MHz. The nice side is, the 4C65 is less lossy within the range defined above.
I hope to hear you again soon from a summit in your area. It is the perfect distance from here to DM/NS … for a contact on 40 m.

Peter

Hi Peter,
nice to read that you also use the 20m version of EFHW.

Since I got my license in 2013, I have my first experience in the sunspot maximum phase. With the 5 watts from the FT-817 I was able to make a lot of DX connections at 10m. Here is my range record.

And so I was heard.

Always with the EFHW with Amidon 43 Unun and portable.