Quite remarkable!

I see there was a single-person activation today of 5 South Wales summits, namely: SW-007 (4 points), SW-006 (6 points), SW-017 (1 point), SW-008 (4 points) and SW-025 (1 point).

And there was I thinking I had done well to activate 2 summits: SW-036 and SW-028 today … but then, I’m a mere novice at this game! However, I DID make 50 QSOs from each summit.

:-)))

Walt (G3NYY)

In reply to G3NYY:

Each to his own Walt. Having dashed around 6 SC’s in a day and enjoyed it despite a finish close to 22:00, I have equally been pleased to sit up to 4 hours on such summits as Cadair Berwyn GW/NW-012, Carnedd Llewelyn GW/NW-002 and Maesglase GW/NW-029 and play radio. For me most activations fall somewhere between these “extremes”, but it is good to do something different every so often.

It’s good to see the less popular GW/SW summits being activated. With few exceptions I have very pleasant memories of them.

73, Gerald

In reply to G3NYY:

Those SW mountains give lovely walking if you get the WX, I set out to do SW-007 and -006 as a pair once but when I topped out on Fan Nedd the wind nearly blew my head off! It looked a lovely col to -006 but I did a quicky and got the heck out of there - another time!

It looks like there is a really nice challenge to link SW-004, -001, -005, -007, -006 and -003 as a long high level walk with activations for a very long summers day starting and finishing at hostels, or a weekend with an intermediate hostel. Has anyone done it yet?

Brian G8ADD

Richard G4ERP’s walk from SW-041 to SW-002 looks a cracker as well.

Tom M1EYP

In reply to M1EYP:

GW/SW-016 (Ysgyryd Fawr)
GW/SW-026 (Bryn Arw)
GW/SW-011 (Sugar Loaf)
GW/SW-002 (Waun Fach)
GW/SW-009 (Mynydd Troed)
GW/SW-023 (Allt yr Esgair)
GW/SW-013 (Tor y Foel)
GW/SW-008 (Cefn yr Ystrad)
GW/SW-004 (Waun Rydd)
GW/SW-001 (Pen y Fan)
GW/SW-005 (Fan Fawr)
GW/SW-006 (Fan Gyhirych)
GW/SW-007 (Fan Nedd)
GW/SW-003 (Fan Brycheiniog)

…all done as a single walk in 2003.

Richard
G3CWI