PSK31 SOTA QSOs

In reply to M0KCB:

I just wanted to let you know I did hear you on 30m PSK Darius. Not good enough for a QSO this time but thanks for the QSO on 20m SSB.

73, Bill W4ZV

In reply to M0KCB:

I didn’t log the QSO because I wasn’t 100% sure either. But I’m glad we made it on 20m OK. Our QSO on 14 March from G/SP-007 was my very first (and so far only) PSK31 QSO! BTW I believe we could have made a 100% QSO on CW from NW-071 but I have much more experience with weak signals on that mode…hopefully we’ll have some more chances.

Yes I was using the internal PSK31 mode in the K3. How could you tell? I’m a total newbie to data modes so my apologies if I sounded strange.

73, Bill

In reply to M0KCB:

Hi again Darius,

Thanks for the PSK31 QSO yesterday from GW/NW-070 Great Orme, my first PSK SOTA chase as far as I can recall. I agree with your comments regarding information sent during a PSK QSO. I deliberately only sent relevant information during our QSO, although as I was typing manually this may have been a little slow. I may well add a suitable macro to the PSK software I use in order to facilitate a faster exchange.

Thanks again & Best 73.

Happy Easter,

Mark G0VOF

In reply to M0KCB:

Thanks Darius. I was sending from two memories:

mw0kcb/p de w4zv w4zv w4zv k

de W4ZV W4ZV rrr ur 559 559 559 tu SOTA de Bill W4ZV W4ZV K

Any suggestions for improvement would be greatly appreciated! As I said I’m a complete newbie on PSK31.

73, Bill

In reply to M0KCB & W4ZV:

Hi Darius, this is all very helpful as a fellow newbie to Bill!

I have make sure my Flexradio 5KA , VAC, Virtual Serial Port manager and MixW - all talk to each other - software nightmare!

Bye for now

Mike G6TUH

In reply to G6TUH:
Hello I must read up on the psk function on my kx3 and give it a fly.