Propagation on 40-30-20m in the next years

Dear all:
As this is my first full solar-cycle as a licensed amateur, I would like to learn from the more seasoned experts about what to expect in terms of propagation on 40, 30, and 20m in the coming years.

My naïve expectation was that CONDX on 20m would improve, allowing for more DX from summits.

Now, as my activations typically take place at daytime between 9:00 a.m. and 12:00 noon UTC, I was a bit surprised that the current daytime predictions are often “poor” for 80/40/30/20m.

Is this because of the D layer attenuation relevant up to 14 MHz? And if so, is this a general pattern to expect towards the peak of the solar cycle, or circumstantial?

73 de Martin, DK3IT

5 Likes

I got my license at the end of the last maximum in 2013 and started my portable career with the 817 - even before Sota. In this time qso could always be done on 40m and 20m all over Europe after nearly every cq call. And often American on 10m.

We are a long way from that at the moment. In the last few years I’ve had a dozen American chasers, lately I haven’t even heard anything overseas. I guess without our Sota spotting procedure I would be nearly impossible to get one single qso on a summit.

That’s strange.

73 Chris

9 Likes