Palatinate Forest Activity

I’m new to the SOTA business and after first, with 5 QSOs disappointing activity from DM/RP-398 in August, I used a planned short trip to the Palatinate Forest for five more activations. So in mid September I activated DM/RP-302 and DM/RP-305 on a single day, DM/RP-417 the next day. Due to a malfunctioning car I had to postpone the activation of DM/RP-311 to the day of departure with less time on the summit and only half the amount of QSOs compared to the other days. I forgot to mention that I activated on my way to the Palatinate Forest DM/RP-272.

So I earned 30 activator points during my autumn trip. Equipment was my 20 year old FT-817 with an external 8 Ah, 11.1 V LiPo battery lasting two days of activation. As I like data modes I took a 8 year old Windows tablet running WSJT-X with me. Antenna was a 2.5 m long whip with loading coil and some random radials. In the end 142 contacts were in the logs and I got really infected by the SOTA virus. The beauty of the Palatinate Forest is always overwhelmig.

And now, which summit might be next?

17 Likes

I love that last photo. Very atmospheric!

2 Likes

Thanks, it was indeed an interesting calm and misty atmosphere already during the walk to the summit. Later the sun came out.

2 Likes

Hi Frank,
welcome to the SOTA familiy. :smile: Mind you, the infection may end up in an addiction. :face_with_raised_eyebrow: So please stay cautious with the dosage!
Have fun and good luck with your future activations. I am looking forward to a S2S with you.
73 de Peter, DM7KN

3 Likes

HI Frank