M1BUU/P Scafell Pike G/LD-001

I applied for a new job back in April, I was pleased, and a little surprised, when I got offered the position. I have been working in electronics for 20 years, starting off by doing work experience at the Bradford based displays company Microvitec as a teenager. I have been working my notice period since May and I finally left my old job on Wednesday after 9 years at the same company. I’ve had a bit of an itch to climb Scafell Pike again for a while, and with having a little break until I start my new job with the local Parish Council, yesterday presented the perfect opportunity.

I left home at around 0540(BST) and the 97 mile drive to the Wasdale National Trust car park was tedious but I arrived just after 0800(BST). The guy in the car park pushing National Trust memberships was doing his best to feed false information to walkers, stating that the weather on Scafell would be very wet, extremely windy, and very cold with severe wind chill, I told him to stop pulling my leg, but he was deadly serious. Thankfully, I’ve learned to decode the MWIS forecasts and I generally find them very good but the wind speeds are very often over-egged, and so it proved to be yesterday. The wind was nothing more than a breeze with a few gusts every so often. The temperature was as to be expected on England’s highest mountain and whilst the cloud was low, it wasn’t wet at the summit - exactly as the MWIS forecast had predicted.