M1BUU -1000 summit points

A few with good memories will remember that I did a crazy thing for my Mountain Goat activation a few years ago. I took a QRPme RockMite][ kit with me on my final summit and built the kit with a gas soldering iron.

Link here if interested -

It’s true what they say, once you reach Mountain Goat status, the pressure is off and SOTA becomes even more fun. Soon I was looking for my next challenge. I decided that I would aim my SOTA efforts to achieving ‘True’ Mountain Goat - by that I mean earning 1000 activation points using summit points alone, not including winter bonus. My challenge took a bit longer than I anticipated!

Fast forward to October 2019 and I was at the RSGB Convention chatting to Dan M0WUT. Those that know Dan will appreciate his PCB design and RF electronics prowess. I have always wanted to try to put together my own PCBs, but I’m not good with software and each time I attempted to learn a PCB design software package I failed. Dan gave me encouragement and tips to help me persevere with Kicad.

I had the idea that for my 1000 point activation, I would re-create my ‘solder the kit on the hill’ event, but this time I wanted to attempt SMD. I looked everywhere but I couldn’t find an SMD based CW kit that was available to buy. I was forced to put together my own kit.

As the 1000 point milestone crept closer towards the end of last year, I sat down with Kicad and put together a PCB. It was a steep learning curve and I did make a few mistakes. I sent off the Gerbers to JLCPCB and for the grand total of £5.34, 5 smart PCBs arrived on my doormat a couple of weeks later.

I decided that 40m would be the most useful band at the time of my activation, I also wanted a useful amount of power. I aimed for about 2 watts of CW.

The Manhattan style test circuit worked well -