KX3 + ideal battery for summits?

I have some questions regarding the KX3 and doing SOTA. I am new to the hobby, the KX3 (should be here the 27th), and SOTA all at the same time, so please bare with me, but I am very excited to get started soon.

First, I know the KX3 comes with batteries, and I did order the charging system, but if I want to run at 10W for an hour (how long exactly), would it be suffice? If not, would one 4S1P A123 Battery Pack enable to do that? I have looked for this information, but I find a lot of different ideas and not to that specific wattage, usually only 5W.

For now, I am just a technician, but taking the general in a month or so. Is it worth trying to go out and hit someone on 10m during the day? I hear that 17m is the ideal band for SOTA though.

There is no one in my local club that does SOTA yet, but I hope I can talk someone into trying out Sugarloaf Mountain with me near Maryland for my first try. I will definitely do a back-yard dry run to make sure I am not missing anything.

Well, thanks for the advice in advance, and I can’t wait to get into activating/chasing since I am already addicted to the SWL logs.

72/73 KC3BRW

Congrats on the new rig - the KX3 is a beauty! A 4S1P of 1.5Ah or greater capacity will run 10W for over an hour. However, you need to drop the voltage of a 4S battery. Many of us use two diodes in series to do the trick. Ideally, you should be able to take the diodes out of line to bring the voltage back up once the batteries start to sag.

10M during the day can be an excellent SOTA band depending on propagation.

Barry N1EU

In reply to N1EU:

Thanks N1EU for the quick reply!

I am a electronics novice, (know what a diode is and how it works), but I assume that it’s easy to install these two diodes you explained?

Thanks - sounds like I don’t have to necessarily wait for general to attempt an activation. I use an Alex Loop (SML) for now for 10m.