Is 2m worth it?

Hi!

I’m relatively new to the ham world and brand new to SOTA. As such, I don’t have much in the way of equipment - a dual band HT [with an almost completed ladder line J Pole] and a mobile 2m only. I’ve seen both hot and cold remarks here regarding 2m in general. My question is thus: I live in the US where 2m seems to be less prevalent and I do tend to travel a bit with work so myriad areas are possible. Is it worth pushing forward with just an inexpensive HT or am I better off just sitting out until I can get a portable HF rig?

73s,

• Sean

You will have more QSOs on the radio you own than the radio you might buy.

Consider finding some local activators and seeing if you can accompany them on some joint activations. You get experience of seeing activations done by the more experienced and you can share carrying the gear up the hills.

5 Likes

In the US 2m activations are more likely to be successful when you’re near a large metropolitan area. So if you find yourself on the front range in CO or in the mountains just outside LA etc. it’s well worth giving it a try.

Joe

U be surprised on how far 2m can reach off a summit even with out extra conditions allowing it go further.

May be try out SSB Hoz antennas simple 2m moxon be good small light weight or even run FM hoz now and again as i tend to run 2m FM on Hoz beam and when people turn there antennas on summits to Hoz again you be surprised on where you can reach.

All about finding ya feet and experiment.

This Quagi am looking at for 2m is about 14ft long and 8 elements looking at ways it can break down and carry will be a change in itself to take portable. Me Yagi 6 El breaks into three bits and easy made up again. VHF likes high point take off.

Have fun finding ya feet

karl M3FEH