Incomplete activator logging question

As a chaser I’ve noticed that some activators do not always submit a complete record when logging their activations, is this normal ?

I personally think it is a little discourteous to leave an incomplete log, but I’m interested to know others opinions seeing as I’m new to the program an all.

Cheers
Neil

An activator if desired only really has to upload four contacts to confirm that they qualified his/her summit if they want the points. You may have worked an activator that had already claimed the summit points for that year who wont submit any further logs. Reasons are varied.

I log every contact that is genuinely complete.

Jonathan

1 Like

As an Activator, I answer every call I can hear (insert bad weather caveat here), and log every valid contact. As a Chaser I log every valid contact. I log what happened, and the points take care of themselves.

I have noticed some stations will work more than one operator on a summit as a courtesy, but then they only log the first contact (no points for them for the courtesy contacts). SOTA is a fun program run primarily on the honor system. If one of your needed contacts chooses to not log you because they received no points for it, it really doesn’t matter. You still get points for what you log.

I thought I was going to work at least one joint SOTA / NPOTA activation this year. Then I found out there were serious NPOTA logging requirements. No thanks.

While I would never intentionally submit an incomplete log of contacts, that is the prerogative of every individual operator.

Ditto here - and I think this is the case of most activators.