Hello from M7WIV in SW England

I’m a complete newbie to all this including the radio side itself as I only got my licence this week!

I live in South Devon, UK, and plan to try a bit of SOTAing once I have a radio. I’m drawn to the new IC-705 but then I look at the price and have to lie down. :slight_smile: However, it could also serve as my only radio in “the shack” and would fit easily into my motorhome (RV) for times when we are allowed to travel again. I’m also drawn to data and the 705 seems well suited to this needing, I believe, only a USB cable.

I may need to lie down a bit more before making a decision. :slight_smile:

John
M7WIV

3 Likes

Welcome John. I’m sure you’ll research all the reviews before making your decision. Try searching on here too for threads about the 705. Everything is a compromise and there is no such thing as the perfect all-rounder to suit everyone’s tastes/needs and budget!

Look forward to working you on the air one day.

3 Likes

Welcome John,

You will find a diverse discussion on the IC-705. It is costly sure but as you stated it covers a lot of land. Buying it as a first radio might not be a bad idea. All band portable in a modern receiver design.
Especially if you are not focusing on SOTA only.

What I can recommend is to start with is a 2m / 70 cm handheld. Maybe add a 1/2 lambda antenna like a selfmade wire J-antenna to make most out of the 5 watt.
That radio will serve you in many situations later on and is light weight to carry along to radio adventures.

If you are into CW then of course you will need a capable radio for that.

Take your time to explore the options for HF rigs. The usual suspects I guess are known?

73 Joe, OE5JFE

2 Likes

I’ve given that option quite a bit of thought but is there going to be anyone listening on FM where I live? There are only a few SOTA peaks down here and they are scarcely higher than a molehill compared to what you can get elsewhere in the UK.